Handgun Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a MA resident and have an LTC class A. I have a relative who lives in Maine and she wants me to store a handgun for her.

1) Can I legally store a legal firearm registered to another person from another state? (I have read that if an unlicensed Mass resident has firearms in their possession after the 60 day new resident grace period it is legal for them to let a permit holder keep them).

2) If the answer to the above is yes then can I: A) Legally transport that firearm in my vehicle and B) Concealed carry that firearm?

Thanks

·
Registered
4,611 Posts
I am a MA resident and have an LTC class A. I have a relative who lives in Maine and she wants me to store a handgun for her.

1) Can I legally store a legal firearm registered to another person from another state? (I have read that if an unlicensed Mass resident has firearms in their possession after the 60 day new resident grace period it is legal for them to let a permit holder keep them).

2) If the answer to the above is yes then can I: A) Legally transport that firearm in my vehicle and B) Concealed carry that firearm?

Thanks
You'd be better off contacting the attorney generals office of your home state, state police, department of public safety or your state's handgun licensing bureau.

·
Super Moderator
12,333 Posts
Yes, every state has different laws. It would be no issue here in TX. But up there, where there are ALL sorts of gun restrictive laws. Better ask MORE than 1 person.

·
Registered
1,199 Posts
Another reason to move to a free state. There is no way I'd live under those restrictive laws. Even here in Florida, things have gotten worse this year. They used to call us The Gunshine State. No more. Jerks in state legislation have been on the warpath. I'm considering Utah.