Handgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I am new to handguns and looking to buy my first gun for self defence. I will not be concealing so I am looking for something compact in size. I am considering the CZ P10c, Glock 19 (gen 3), Beretta APX Centurion and the Canik TP9sf Elite. Thus far I have shot 3 of the 4 handguns and I also shot the Canik TP9sf Elite SC which I am told is very similar to its big brother.

My experience with shooting (less than 50 rounds each) thus far is as follows:
• Glock 19 – most uncomfortable ergonomics but surprisingly good shooting gun. Worst sights out of the box so will probably cost extra to change.
• Beretta APX Centurion – most ergonomic of them all. A bit top heavy but very flat shooting and manageable recoil.
• CZ P10c – very aggressive texturing. Can’t seem to shoot it very accurately (could be due to the aggressive texture) and the slide release is very stiff.
• Canik TP9sf Elite SC – fits great in the hand. Hell of a lot of recoil due to higher bore axis. Not sure if the big brother will be a softer shooter. Best value by far.

I know that every gun is different for every individual but I would like to know if anyone has went through something similar with similar models and if they can provide advice on how they chose. I would also like to know if anyone on the forum owns a Canik TP9sf Elite and what their experience has been thus far, as I feel this gun provides the most bang for the buck.

Thanks in advance.

·
Administrator
13,134 Posts
You will learn that your favorite handgun will change over time. You don't even want to know how many guns I have owned over the past 30 years.