Handgun Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, newbie here, first i've got to say im from México, where proper ammo sometimes is hard to Find, specially For old handguns.
With this beeing said, there are many old 38 short revolvers arround but no 38 short ammo whatsoever.
So, i was wondering if this old revolvers could be loaded with the 38 spl wadcutter?
WC will fit in lenght of the 38 short cilinder with no problem, but some cilinders like mine have an inside "ring" in the chamber that will stop the case about 5mm but if you take this ring the cartridge will fit properly
I think the pressure of both ctgs is quite similar, maybe wc a little bit higher but not quite high to endanger the gun.
Wadcutters in México are also hard to find but not as hard as the 38 short, so do you think it would be an option?

·
Registered
409 Posts
Diameters are different. The .38 S&W is larger diameter. this could lead to.38 special cases splitting. Some of the .38 S&W handguns won’t do well with even “moderate“ pressure increases And .38 Special is definitely a higher pressure round.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Diameters are different. The .38 S&W is larger diameter. this could lead to.38 special cases splitting. Some of the .38 S&W handguns won’t do well with even “moderate“ pressure increases And .38 Special is definitely a higher pressure round.
Thanks doc. But isnt 38 wadcutter beeing a target ctg. Supposed to be a low pressure load?

·
Registered
409 Posts
Thanks doc. But isnt 38 wadcutter beeing a target ctg. Supposed to be a low pressure load?
They can be but don’t have to be. If you didn’t load it yourself, and know what powder and charge are inside the case, you can’t be sure until you fire it. There are actually some hot wadcutter loads out there that were popular with bowling pin match competitors.

Main reasons wadcutter rounds were used for target shooting were: