Texas doesn't make you wait either. They run you through NCIC while you are standing there to make sure your not a Felon or a Nutbag, ( takes about 3 minutes), if your clear you pay the man and take your weapon. If you have a concealed carry permit you show it and they skip the backround check.
Lets say you lay down your money for a gun submit your request and the Judge, having a bad day, declines your permit. Is the vendor required by law to refund the purchase price or can you simply be out the cost of the gun?
Funny though, NY state law doesn't address this. So much for protecting the citizens....
The really crazy part is that while you're required to buy the gun before you can get the permit, by law you're not allowed to even handle a handgun before you get your permit. So for your first gun anyway, you have to buy a gun that you might never had a chance to even pick up and hold.
Last edited by kev74; 02-11-2009 at 11:53 AM.
Then the down payment.
Then to the police station.
Then the wait to be approved
the back to the shop to pick up the gun.
I am new to this so please correct me if I missunderstood. This is what I was told at the shop.
There is a bit of difference between counties, but NYS law says you can't handle a handgun without a permit.
NYS Penal Law Section 400
Weather or not your local shop wants to comply with the law is another story.
Then go and jump through all the other hoops to have it amended.
Here in Orange County, you have to hand in proof of ownership of a gun before your paperwork will be processed. By the time you get the letter saying your approved here, you can go and get the permit the same day.
Politics?! Hell, seems like the whole world is starting to work that way.
Figured I'd throw out an update. I guess they give you worst case scenario, because it ended up only being about a week and a half before I received my amended permit and picked up my Glock 22. Not too bad I guess.
Gotta agree. I love this state sometimes. Not only the ease of purchase, but there are limitations on the amount of time the county\state can take on getting you your CCW. As soon as I submit my info to the county sherrif's department, they legally have to either deny me or issue my CCW within 60 days. At least thats what the sherrif and the Kentucky State website said. Hope it's true.
I live in Vermont, New York is so close but yet so far on gun issues! If I decide to buy a gun I can have it home in an hour shooting it. We can carry any place that is not a school or federal building. I carry to work every day, sometimes concealed and sometime not!
I guess there are a couple of things I still like about Vermont.
I wish some of these liberals would move back to their states!
You guys have it rough.
I'm in Wa state. I bought a XD .45 yesterday with my tax return and will have it by next weekend. I also applied for my concealed carry and should ahve that in 3 weeks.
I'm going nuts waiting to get my hands on my new pistol in a week!