It's a browser (cookie) related issue... Once you close your browser the cookie expires, suppose to anyway. Clicking on an email link reopens the browser, thus prompting you to login.
Originally Posted by LAPD - Pep Streebeck
Let me guess... your using Internet Explorer...?
"bing bang boom! hair out...hamburger time" - William Murderface