I had one in the state of Maine for over 20 years. When i move up here to Alaska 18 years ago i spent $$$$ for CCW classes and state and federal paperwork. Got my CC permit. Two months later they changed the laws. Permit no longer needed. As long as you are over 21 and not a felon you can cc.
Been legally carrying every day sense June 1 1969.