How to: Sell a handgun in NC to a citizen

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 20 of 25
    1. #1
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      4

      How to: Sell a handgun in NC to a citizen

      Hey Kenny,

      College student = crunched for cash so: I want to sell my new full size handgun so I can purchase a compact pistol that would serve both CCW and home defense needs. What's the best way to sell a hangun to a private citizen?

      Jon

    2. #2
      Calibers Indoor Range & Training ken@cigr's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      NC
      Posts
      94

      No Papers No Pistol

      Good question Jon,
      Under North Carolina law, it is unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to sell, give away, transfer, purchase, or receive, at any place in the state, any pistol, unless the purchaser or receiver has first obtained a license or permit to receive such a pistol by the sheriff of the county where the purchaser or receiver resides, or the purchaser or receiver possesses a valid North Carolina-issued concealed carry permit. This requirement to obtain a permit prior to the transfer of a pistol applies not only to a commercial transaction, typically at a sporting goods store, but also between private individuals or companies throughout North Carolina. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-402(a)

      If you do not get a purchase document from the purchaser, you can get charged with a class 2 misdemeanor.

      Thanks
      Kenny

    3. #3
      Member
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      piedemont triad area nc
      Posts
      140
      great answer ken!

      if you use an online broker/auction site like Gunbroker.com any interstate sales should go through a FFL dealer and provide a legitimate sale for both the seller and the buyer.

      just a noob so i could be mistaken,
      John

    4. #4
      Calibers Indoor Range & Training ken@cigr's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      NC
      Posts
      94
      That is correct, good point johnr, but jdmungen is an individual that is a NC resident, and looking to sell to a NC resident. If you want to be 100% sure, you can go through a FFL, but it will cost the buyer a few extra bucks. Then it's transfered to the FFL's books and then sold to the buyer and all liability falls on the FFL. Some guys only do it this way, and it might be worth your peace of mind. Just a thought. Or just stick with the old school paperwork.

      jdmungen, What are you trying to sell anyway? Just keep it and get a good carry holster and don't loose any green!!! I'll help you if you need some holster suggestions.

      Kenny

    5. #5
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      4
      FNP 9mm (#47828 + shooter pack w/ holster, dual mag holder, and training barrel). Less than 300 rounds put through it. I figure why pay ~$1200 for two guns when I can sell the first and almost pay for the second. A gundealer would try to give me $350, a $250 depreciation for a gun owned for about a month!

      Anyway, I'm picking up my m&p 9c in a few hours. You know where I could post a for sale sign (Craigslist, gunbroker, gunshops)?

      jon

    6. #6
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      salisbury nc
      Posts
      9
      whoa...that was useful info..i was on the verge of selling to private citizen

    7. #7
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Quote Originally Posted by ken@cigr View Post
      ...or the purchaser or receiver possesses a valid North Carolina-issued concealed carry permit.
      So what document would change hands in a transaction where the above is true? A photocopy of the concealed carry permit?

    8. #8
      Calibers Indoor Range & Training ken@cigr's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      NC
      Posts
      94

      Document exchange

      Copy of CCH Permit, Drivers License, and bill of sale including make, model, & serial number of gun, date of sale and signed by both parties. I usually make up 2 originals so neither party just gets a photocopy. Keep for life.

      thanks
      Kenny

    9. #9
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Quote Originally Posted by ken@cigr View Post
      Copy of CCH Permit, Drivers License, and bill of sale including make, model, & serial number of gun, date of sale and signed by both parties. I usually make up 2 originals so neither party just gets a photocopy. Keep for life.

      thanks
      Kenny
      Thanks for the info. My grandfather gave me a pistol from his collection as a gift, and he only asked me for a photocopy of my CCW + Drivers license for his records. We didn't do a bill of sale or anything. Should I get with him about that, or what kind of trouble might I run into down the road if I don't have it? He said he talked with his sheriff about gifting me the pistol and the sheriff just said, give it to him and get copies of CCW and driver's license so you can show where the pistol went.

    10. #10
      Calibers Indoor Range & Training ken@cigr's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      NC
      Posts
      94
      What does a photo copy of a CCH and Drivers license tell you? It doesn't mean the copy was made with consent, there is no date when gun transferred, no info of make model or serial number of transferred gun. The possibilities are endless where this could lead. Lets say, God forbid, your Grandfather suffers from dementia in the future. Then truly believes his gun is stolen and files a report. The only proof of transfer is a copy of your drivers license and permit in your grandfathers sock drawer or in the trash. Get something in writing, yes it's family but it's still a good idea.

      Kenny

    11. #11
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Will do. This has been in the back of my mind since I received it almost a year ago. I'll draft up a bill of sale and send it to him. Thanks for the help.

    12. #12
      Calibers Indoor Range & Training ken@cigr's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      NC
      Posts
      94

      Your Welcome

      Glad I can help.

    13. #13
      Junior Member PhillyCheese's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      36
      What about selling a hand gun to a individual who is from out of state, or myself going to a different state? Do these transactions have to go through a FFL?

    14. #14
      Calibers Indoor Range & Training ken@cigr's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      NC
      Posts
      94

      10 years of free room & board for trafficking!

      The Gun Control Act of 1968 (GCA or GCA68), Pub.L. 90-618, 82 Stat. 1213, enacted October 22, 1968 by president Lyndon Johnson, is a federal law in the United States that broadly regulates the firearms industry and firearms owners. It primarily focuses on regulating interstate commerce in firearms by generally prohibiting interstate firearms transfers except among licensed manufacturers, dealers and importers.

      It has to be shipped to an FFL in the state it's going to be transferred to. Most FFL's won't receive firearms from individuals that are not FFL's. That means a transfer fee might be charged on both ends of the transaction and a shipping charge.

      Kenny

    15. #15
      Junior Member PhillyCheese's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      36
      Quote Originally Posted by ken@cigr View Post
      The Gun Control Act of 1968 (GCA or GCA68), Pub.L. 90-618, 82 Stat. 1213, enacted October 22, 1968 by president Lyndon Johnson, is a federal law in the United States that broadly regulates the firearms industry and firearms owners. It primarily focuses on regulating interstate commerce in firearms by generally prohibiting interstate firearms transfers except among licensed manufacturers, dealers and importers.
      It has to be shipped to an FFL in the state it's going to be transferred to. Most FFL's won't receive firearms from individuals that are not FFL's. That means a transfer fee might be charged on both ends of the transaction and a shipping charge.
      Kenny
      A Few Questions
      1.If I am at a gun show, and someone wants to buy a pistol I am selling, is their paper permit from the Sheriff's office of their respective county good to buy anywhere in the state, not just in their county?
      2. As far as gun shows go, what can you tell me about an individual selling a gun? This question is more about gun show rules and requirements and not the actual laws. Can an individual just walk around the property inside and out with a Gun for Sale sign? Are there copiers for public use to make copies of documents for the buyer and seller?
      Is their a link you can give me to give me info specifically related to gun shows?

    16. #16
      Calibers Indoor Range & Training ken@cigr's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      NC
      Posts
      94

      Hope this Helps

      1.If I am at a gun show, and someone wants to buy a pistol I am selling, is their paper permit from the Sheriff's office of their respective county good to buy anywhere in the state, not just in their county?
      Purchase documents or permits as they are usually referred to, are valid across the state.

      2. As far as gun shows go, what can you tell me about an individual selling a gun? This question is more about gun show rules and requirements and not the actual laws. Can an individual just walk around the property inside and out with a Gun for Sale sign?
      As far as I've seen, it varies from show to show, even at the same location. Greensboro Coliseum for instance, I went to the last show and saw numerous people walking around buying and selling. The show before that, I witnessed show staff hassling people inside and out for selling. I can't tell you about show rules but I do know that all state and federal laws still apply.

      Are there copiers for public use to make copies of documents for the buyer and seller?
      If your the seller just make up 2 bills of sale before you leave the house and leave blanks for buyers name and any other info you want from him. In regards to a copier, I've never seen one.

    17. #17
      Junior Member PhillyCheese's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      36
      Thank you, ken@cigr.
      You are very helpful.

    18. #18
      Junior Member PhillyCheese's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      36
      OK. .
      I am about ready to actually sell my hand gun. I have a couple questions.

      Being that I will be getting a copy of the purchaser's Drivers License and Gun Permit for my official records, does the purchaser have the right to get a copy of my drivers license and my gun permit?

      Also. are the any tips for verifying ID's should the purchaser have an ID and not a Drivers License?

    19. #19
      Calibers Indoor Range & Training ken@cigr's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      NC
      Posts
      94

      How I Roll

      I would think a buyer would want to know who they are purchasing a firearm from. Some times this might not be the case. If I was in the middle of selling a gun, and I asked the buyer what paperwork they wanted, and they didn't want any paperwork, there would be no sale. I would hope anyone you are planning on selling the gun to would want to know at least your name and address. If the gun that the buyer knows nothing about, was in fact stolen, he is talking federal prison for YEARS!!!!! I don't need to sell any gun that bad!!!! And don't need someone else's gun that bad either.
      Everyone is different, but thats how I roll.

      Hope I answered your question.
      Kenny

    20. #20
      Calibers Indoor Range & Training ken@cigr's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      NC
      Posts
      94
      Also. are the any tips for verifying ID's should the purchaser have an ID and not a Drivers License?
      I think the only difference between a NC state issued ID and a Drivers License is one says not for operation of a vehicle. But why doesn't this person have a license? DUI, aggressive driving, multiple speeding tickets, etc..... I rather that person not own one of my old guns.

      Kenny

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Sponsored Links

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  

    Search tags for this page

    how do i sell a gun in nc

    ,

    how to sell a gun in nc

    ,

    how to sell a handgun in north carolina

    ,

    nc gun transfer

    ,

    person to person sale of handgun nc

    ,

    procedure to purchase a pistol at a gun show in nc

    ,

    selling a firearm in nc

    ,

    selling a gun in north carolina

    ,

    selling a gun nc

    ,
    selling a handgun in north carolina form
    ,

    selling a handgun to another person in north carolina

    ,

    selling a pistol in nc

    Click on a term to search for related topics.